Understanding Contact Statuses in Express Email Marketing
You can view the status of your Express Email Marketing® Contacts in the List Manager to learn which Contacts receive your campaigns. Only Active or Unverified Contacts contribute to your total Contact count.
Possible Contact statuses are:
Active Contacts signed up for your Express Email Marketing mailings through a sign-up form and have successfully received campaign emails. When you send a campaign to active Contacts, Express Email Marketing delivers it immediately.
Unverified Contacts have not opened at least three email campaign messages, or have not clicked images or links within messages. When you send a campaign, Express Email Marketing delivers it to Unverified Contacts within 48 hours of the initial delivery to Active Contacts. If you receive a bounceback email from an Unverified Contact, Express Email Marketing deletes that Contact from the List Manager.
NOTE: If a campaign receives too many bounceback or undeliverable emails from Unverified Contacts, Express Email Marketing suspends the campaign. For more information, see Reports of spam or excessive bouncebacks will result in the suspension of your account.
Express Email Marketing disables Active Contacts who soft-bounce your emails. A soft-bounced email is a message returned because the recipient's mailbox is full, the mail server is temporarily unavailable, or the recipient no longer has an email account at that address. You can enable or reactivate the Disabled Contacts on the View Contacts page.
Express Email Marketing removes Active Contacts who hard bounce your emails. Hard-bounces occur when the email address is invalid. You can reactivate Removed Contacts by creating a sign-up form, or you can manually add their addresses using the Import wizard.
Express Email Marketing deletes Active or Unverified Contacts who request to be removed from your mailing list, Unverified Contacts who bounce your emails, and any Contact you manually delete. Deleted Contacts must use the opt-in link before you can re-add them to the List Manager.