If you want to move a domain name from one account with us to another, you're in the right place to get started — it's called an Account Change. If you need to move a domain name to a different registrar, see Transferring Domain Names to Another Registrar.
After you complete the following steps, we send the owner of the receiving account an email with instructions to confirm the move. The recipient must confirm the domain name move within 10 days. After that time, the transaction times out and you must reinitiate it. For instructions on confirming a domain name move, see Accepting domain account changes.
A domain name must be in active status to change accounts. If a domain is in active status but past its expiration date, it will not allow the account change to be initiated. Domains that change accounts will have a 10-day transfer lock for fraud protection.
How you now access the DNS manager will depend on the view of your account. Follow the steps below that apply to your account view, then continue with step 3.
In Card View, your account will look something like this:
In List View, your account will look something like this:
If you don't know the new registrant's login information, leave this field blank, and then select Enter new details.
The new registrant's Customer # or login name might be required or optional depending on what you select here. For Enter new details, it's optional. For all other options, it's required. If entered, the value must match information on file in the receiving account.
If moving a country-code top-level domain name (ccTLD), you might have to select this option and have the new registrant contact our support department to update the contact information. For more information, see About ccTLDs (Country-Code Domain Names).
Any nameserver change will bring a live Website down. Additionally, the domain name loses any custom DNS when it moves to the new account.
We display a list of the services that we'll cancel after you move the domain name from your account. You can't reverse a cancellation after you agree to the move. There will be a 10-day transfer lock after the domain is moved into a new account.
When you change the Organization or the First name or the Last name (in the absence of an Organization entry), you must agree to a 60-day lockdown to continue. If you have a .au domain name, a 60-day lock will not apply.